In a press release Thursday night, the Saskatchewan Teachers` Federation announced that its members voted 85 per cent in favour of the new four-year agreement. The vote took place between Tuesday and Thursday. The local agreement is between the Sun West Teachers` Association (SWTA) and the Sun West School Division. REGINA — Saskatchewan teachers voted 85 per cent in favour of a new four-year collective agreement. The Sun West School Division has negotiated employment contracts with a number of workers` groups. Links to copies of the agreements and related information are below. “The acceptance of this agreement does not signal that teachers` concerns have been raised,” STF President Patrick Maze said in the statement. The provincial agreement is between the Saskatchewan Seachers Federation (STF) and the provincial government and the Saskatchewan School Boards` Association (SSBA), which represents Sun West and other local school departments. Click here to view the Saskatchewan Provincial Agreement. The STF says that recovering purchasing power and the complexity of the lost classes was the biggest problem during the negotiations. However, the Government-Trustee Bargaining Committee did not include class complexity in the agreement. “If the government fails to implement meaningful changes, we will explore all avenues, including future rounds of negotiations, to ensure that students` needs are met.” Non-teaching faculty are members of the Union of Canadian Public Employees (CUPE) Local 4802.

Benefits and working conditions are set out in a collective agreement negotiated with Sun West`s School Division. Collective Agreement C.U.P.E. Local 4802 September 1, 2017 to Aug. 31, 2021 Teachers employed in the Sun West School Division are subject to a provincial agreement and a local agreement. The union and the government reached the provisional agreement on 22 April. The agreement is retroactive to September 1 of last year and expires on August 31, 2023. The new agreement will apply from 1 September 2019 to 31 August 2023. Teachers receive a zero percent increase for the first year, then a two percent increase for each of the following years. The Ministry of Education announced that it had reached an agreement with the teachers on 22 April.

Future rounds of negotiations to ensure that students` needs are met. The vote took place From May 19 to 21, according to the Saskatchewan Teachers` Federation. “We remain very committed to ensuing that students have equal access to materials and resources An empty classroom is visible in this unedited file photo. (THE CANADIAN PRESS/Jonathan Hayward) The STF said it would address class complexity through a new provincial class size and composition committee. The government had previously set up a committee to discuss the idea, but the STF refused to participate. Teachers will each receive a 2% salary increase during the second, third and fourth years of the agreement. .

Comments are closed.